b12 stands with ukraine! (read more)

summer main event

research or die.

© jonis jan bos

b12 summer main event


location: eden***** studios


Jone San Martin Astigarraga

dance on ensemble / the forsythe company


sympathy for the dancer

The mentoring workshop offers the space for us to finally take care of the issues that the participants may be facing, or will be facing in their careers. A space where, as mentor, I will be accompanying, listening and guiding them through the questions and thoughts that will arise during the discussions and conversations that we will have all together. I believe that by listening to each other and minding each other's voice, we will come up with conclusions and solutions that will benefit all of us. we will be in an intimate and safe situation that will allow us to deeply discuss matters and issues about the career of the dancer. And I will be the counsellor and the advisor, based on my experience as a dancer that is still performing at my age.

Jone San Martin Astigarraga was born in Donostia/San Sebastian in the Basque Country. Since 2015, she lives In Berlin. She is dancer, performer, choreographer and teacher of the Improvisation Technologies developed together with William Forsythe. First she studied with Mentxu Medel in San Sebastian, and then at the Institut del Teatre in Barcelona, and at Mudra International, the school of Maurice Béjart in Brussels. After working as freelancer in Spain and Belgium, she joined The Ballett Frankfurt, in 1992, under the direction of William Forsythe, until 2004, and then she joined The Forsythe Company, until 2015. She was part of the first edition of Dance On Ensemble in Berlin and still collaborates with the second edition. She has created several works and with the sólo/conference on Forsythe’s choreographic notation, Legítimo/Rezo, she is touring all over the world. During all those years, she has worked and collaborated with William Forsythe, Nacho Duato, Jacopo Godani, Saburo Teshigawara, Fabrice Mazliah, Agnès Chekroun, Carlotta Sagna, Jan Lawers, Jan Fabre, Josh Johnson, Tim Etchells, Matteo Fargion, Rabih Mroué, Deborah Hay, Jan Marteens, Ersan Mondtag, Johannes Wieland, Mikel R Nieto, Emanuele Soavi, Susanne Kennedy, Ildikó Tóth, Yannis Adoniou, Ivana Müller, and Mathilde Monnier. Donostia 2016 gave her a Carte Blanche on scenic arts.



please subscribe to our newsletter

b12 |||||||||||||| 2022 |||||||||||||| we are you ||||||||||||||